Affiliated Networks


Badge

Loading…

Latest Activity

Ali Mangkang updated their profile
Wednesday
Ali Mangkang posted an event

Thomas Wolfe Memorial Literary Award at Asheville Renaissance Hotel

February 7, 2015 from 5pm to 7pm
Honoring Author Robert Morgan for his selected work"The Road From Gap Creek". The presentation of the award includes a reading followed by a reception.For more informationSee More
Wednesday
Chevin Woodruff shared their event on Facebook
Tuesday
Chevin Woodruff posted an event
Thumbnail

An Evening with Barbara Woodall at Splendor Mountain at Splendor Mountain

January 27, 2015 from 6pm to 8pm
Barbara Taylor Woodall was born and raised in Rabun County Georgia. This county touches both North Carolina and South Carolina, so you can already guess it was a special place to grow a child. Barbara wrote about her life as a child and the wonderful people God joined her to as she grew and learned. It's Not My Mountain Anymore tells some of these stories. Barbara will share from her book and from her life, June 6, 2015 at Splendor Mountain.See More
Tuesday
Avery Ray McKinney Jr. updated their profile
Jan 23
City Lights Bookstore posted an event
Thumbnail

David Joy Presents His Debut Novel at City Lights Bookstore

March 6, 2015 from 6:30pm to 8pm
Webster author, David Joy will present his new novel on Friday, March 6th at 6:30 p.m. at City Lights Bookstore.  Where All Light Tends to Go, a staff pick of both Chris and Eon, is set in Jackson County and tells the story of Jacob McNeely, a young man who is in a fight against his fate. “Expertly balancing beauty and brutality, David has written a novel that stays with the reader long after the final page has been read.  Where All Light Tends to Go, though very much an Appalachian tale, is…See More
Jan 22
City Lights Bookstore posted events
Jan 21
Caralyn Davis posted a blog post

Color Blind, My First Eco-Fiction, Published & Waiting to Be Read

My short story "Color Blind" is now up at Eclectica Magazine. It's got animal extinctions, Sekhmet, Santa Claus, golden Panamanian frogs, real science, fake science, and lots of cats -- in a very economical, easy-reading 1,700 words.See More
Jan 15
Sarah Harden posted an event

Rose Senehi, Speaker for CMLC's January Speaker Series at Henderson County Main Branch Library in the Kaplan Auditorium.

January 14, 2015 from 6pm to 7:30pm
Join Carolina Mountain Land Conservancy (CMLC) Wednesday, January 14th for a presentation from Rose Senehi, esteemed Chimney Rock author of novels Dancing on Rocks, Render Unto the Valley, and many more. She will read passages from her books while elaborating on her local inspirations. At the end of her readings, Senehi will conduct a Q&A session and book signing.Many of Senehi’s novels have woven together several of CMLC’s regional land conservation accomplishments. In the Shadows of…See More
Jan 12
Rodney Page commented on Rob Neufeld's group Promoting Writers
"Happy to join the group...Relatively new to North Carolina. Have published a thriller, Powers Not Delegated, and my second book, The Xerces Factor launches in April 2015. see more at my website: www.rodneypagebooks.com"
Jan 12
Rodney Page posted photos
Jan 12
Charles Oliver shared Rob Neufeld's discussion on Facebook
Jan 10
City Lights Bookstore posted events
Jan 10
Rob Neufeld posted discussions
Jan 10
Gregg Jones updated their profile
Jan 3
Rob Neufeld posted a discussion

1962, Tunnel Road--an era remembered

We remember Tunnel Road and 1960by Rob Neufeld             The “Buck Burger”—“made with two pure beef patties,” tomato, lettuce, cheese, and a dill chip, “served with Buck’s own special dressing on a toasted bun.”             That was something that you could get at Buck’s Drive-In on Tunnel Road, from 1946 to 1972, when…See More
Jan 2

An Inside Glimpse at Televangelism

Event Details

An Inside Glimpse at Televangelism

Time: November 9, 2012 from 6:30pm to 8:30pm
Location: City Lights Bookstore
Street: 3 East Jackson St
City/Town: Sylva
Website or Map: http://citylightsnc.com
Phone: 8285869499
Event Type: book, reading
Organized By: City Lights Bookstore
Latest Activity: Nov 7, 2012

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

Pamela King Cable will come to City Lights Bookstore on Friday, November 9th at 6:30 p.m. to read from her new book Televenge. Cable, a former megachurch member, introduces very real religious, political and relationship themes and events, as only a televangelism-insider could, through her new fictional thriller, Televenge—scheduled to hit bookshelves in October. Unveiling dramatic story and character twists, and occasions when perception should not be confused with reality, Cable’s novel highlights church corruption, but most of all the idea of unconditional love. Vivid and tragic, Televenge exposes chaos in the mega-church, and embraces those who discover unconditional love in a religious world fraught with fear and intimidation. In pitch-perfect voices, Pamela King Cable’s emotionally rich debut novel, with extraordinary twists and hairpin turns, creates four remarkable characters who will stay with the reader long after they finish the book.  To reserve a book please call City Lights Bookstore at 828-586-9499.

Televenge is “ . . . an emotional rollercoaster that ends as intensely as it begins. . . . those who commit to Cable’s tome will find themselves captivated and deeply devoted to Andie. Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and crime.” — Shannon Marie Robinson, Library Journal LJ editor’s BEA pick, “From Magick to BBQ & Backlist”

Comment Wall

Comment

RSVP for An Inside Glimpse at Televangelism to add comments!

Join The Read on WNC

Attending (1)

© 2015   Created by Rob Neufeld.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service